KDC Executive Leadership

Laura Kelly

Governor Laura Kelly

Laura Kelly is the 48th Governor of Kansas. She has made it her life’s mission to fight for Kansas children and families on the job, in her community, as a four-term state senator and as governor.

Kelly has prioritized fully funding public schools, expanding affordable healthcare, reforming the child welfare system and growing the Kansas economy – especially in rural communities – as Governor.

Kelly is ready to bring people together and lead Kansas into the next chapter.

David Toland

David C. Toland

Acting Secretary
Kansas Department of Commerce

David Toland is the Acting Secretary of the Kansas Department of Commerce.

Prior to joining the team at Commerce Toland was the first CEO of Thrive Allen County, a nonprofit coalition that works to improve quality of life and economic conditions in Allen County, Kansas. A seventh-generation Allen Countian, Toland oversaw the organization in its efforts toward improving healthcare access, healthy lifestyles and economic development in the small, rural Kansas county.

Toland previously worked as an appointee of Washington, DC Mayor Anthony A. Williams. During his time in the District, Toland held a variety of positions, including Deputy Chief Operating Officer in the Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development, and was later appointed as Chief of Staff in the Office of Planning. Prior to coming to Washington, Toland worked for the city managers of Reno, Nevada and Bonner Springs, Kansas.

Patty Clark

Patty Clark

Deputy Secretary
Kansas Department of Commerce

Patty Clark is the Deputy Secretary for the Kansas Department of Commerce.

Clark has spent her career in public service with an emphasis on rural policy and government operations. 

Clark served both the Graves and Sebelius Administrations in the Kansas Department of Commerce, first as Division Director for Ag Marketing and Community Development and then as Deputy Secretary. 

She served as State Director for USDA Rural Development and most recently returned to the Kansas Leadership Center as Vice-President, later becoming Acting President from September 2017-March 2018.