Click to Home

Go To Search

Agency Newsroom

Posted on: August 28, 2014

Rural Opportunity Zones program expands to additional counties

The Rural Opportunity Zones (ROZ) program has expanded by four counties for Fiscal Year 2015, bringing the total number of ROZ certified counties to 77. On July 1, Cherokee, Labette, Montgomery and Sumner counties joined the initiative designed to help bring new residents to rural Kansas after decades of population loss.

The ROZ program allows qualifying individuals who move to one of the 77 certified counties to have their state income taxes waived for up to five years. In addition, counties that opt to partner with the state may offer student loan repayments of up to $15,000. Currently, 70 counties have decided to join the student loan repayment program. Montgomery and Washington counties are the two most recent additions to this portion of the ROZ program.

“Rural Opportunity Zones have had a positive impact across our state, helping to bring new families and skilled workers to counties that have suffered population loss for generations,” said Kansas Commerce Secretary Pat George. “The most recent expansion of the program will bring those ROZ benefits to additional areas of southeast and south central Kansas.”

The Department has received 1,654 applications for participation in the student loan repayment program from residents of 42 states. Applicants represent a wide variety of industries and educational backgrounds. Education, healthcare and agriculture are the most common careers of applicants.

For more information about the Rural Opportunity Zones program, please visit

The following counties have been certified by the Legislature as ROZ counties:

Allen, Anderson, Barber, Bourbon, Brown, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Decatur, Doniphan, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jewell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morris, Morton, Nemaha, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Republic, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Trego, Thomas, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wichita, Wilson and Woodson.

Learn more about Rural Opportunity Zones
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Agency Newsroom

Expo for Hispanic small business owners

Posted on: September 26, 2016

2016 KANSASWORKS Statewide Job Fair

Posted on: September 15, 2016

Kansas Hispanic Entrepreneurs Expo

Posted on: November 12, 2015

FABCON Precast expands to Kansas

Posted on: January 14, 2015

kk-electronic expands operations to Lenexa

Posted on: February 13, 2014

Crosswind Petfoods to move to Topeka

Posted on: November 8, 2013

HairUWear will open facility in Lenexa

Posted on: October 14, 2013

CritiTech Expands Into New Headquarters

Posted on: September 16, 2013

MarketSphere plans move to Kansas

Posted on: July 23, 2013

eLuminate Health opens in Leawood

Posted on: February 5, 2013

Telamon to open facility in Kansas City

Posted on: January 31, 2013

GM invests $600 million in Fairfax plant

Posted on: January 28, 2013

Southwest Airlines is coming to Kansas

Posted on: January 13, 2012

Home Contact Us Sitemap Accessibility Copyright Notice Photo Credits Employment
Kansas Department of Commerce, 1000 S.W. Jackson St., Suite 100, Topeka, KS 66612-1354
(785) 296-3481      TTY - 711      Fax (785) 296-5055