Click to Home

Go To Search

Agency Newsroom

Posted on: May 28, 2013

Minority Enterprise Development Week nominations now open

The Kansas Department of Commerce Office of Minority and Women Business Development is accepting nominations for Kansas minority and/or women owned businesses, advocates, young entrepreneurs and corporations. These nominations celebrate Minority Enterprise Development (MED) Week, and nominees will be recognized at the annual Kansas Minority and Women Business Awards Luncheon to be held on Oct. 8 at the Capitol Plaza Hotel in Topeka.

“MED Week honors minority owned businesses and individuals who have made exemplary contributions to their industries and our economy,” Kansas Commerce Secretary Pat George said. “Celebrating the critical role that these businesses play in hiring Kansas workers and growing the Kansas economy is extremely important.”

The deadline to nominate a business or individual is Monday, July 8. Online nomination forms can be accessed at To request a hard copy of the form, please contact Rhonda Harris at or (785) 296-3425. All forms submitted by mail must be postmarked by July 8. Forms can be mailed to Rhonda Harris, Office of Minority and Women Business Development, Kansas Department of Commerce, 1000 S.W. Jackson St., Suite 100, Topeka, Kan., 66612; faxed to (785) 296-3490; or emailed to

The Office of Minority and Women Business Development provides assistance in business management, identifying resources for financing and establishing contacts in the public and private sectors. The office is responsible for certifying minority- and women-owned businesses as small disadvantaged businesses for procurement and subcontracting opportunities.

(List of 2012 winners follows)

2012 Women-Owned Businesses of the Year

• Tenoch Construction - Fairway (Construction Firm)
• S and Y Industries, Winfield (Manufacturing Firm)
• Earles Engineering & Inspection, Inc. - Salina (Professional Service Firm)
• Bling, Inc. - Scott City (Retail Firm)
• Hays Academy of Hair Design - Hays (Service Industry Firm)
• American Energy Products, Inc. - Lansing (Supplier/Distributor Firm)

2012 Minority-Owned Businesses of the Year

• Oliver Construction - Wichita (Construction Firm)
• Forever Yours Glass Etchings - Olathe (Manufacturing Firm)
• FSC, Inc. - Overland Park (Professional Service Firm)
• Signs By Tomorrow/The Corona Group, Inc. - Overland Park (Retail Firm)
• Athena Communications - Overland Park (Service Industry Firm)
• Technology Group Solutions, LLC - Lenexa (Supplier/Distributor Firm)

2012 Women Business Advocate

• Jene' Popper Hong, Barton Nelson, Inc. - Kansas City, Missouri

2012 Minority Business Advocate

• Patsy Stuke, American Osage Consulting Inc. - Lenexa

2012 Young Entrepreneur

• Curtis Smart, Kaleb Berry, Kenan Meadows and Joseph Belcher, Jr., - Kansas City

2012 Corporation of the Year

• Kansas Entertainment, LLC - Kansas City

MED Week awards nomination forms
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Agency Newsroom

Expo for Hispanic small business owners

Posted on: September 26, 2016

2016 KANSASWORKS Statewide Job Fair

Posted on: September 15, 2016

Kansas Hispanic Entrepreneurs Expo

Posted on: November 12, 2015

FABCON Precast expands to Kansas

Posted on: January 14, 2015

kk-electronic expands operations to Lenexa

Posted on: February 13, 2014

Crosswind Petfoods to move to Topeka

Posted on: November 8, 2013

HairUWear will open facility in Lenexa

Posted on: October 14, 2013

CritiTech Expands Into New Headquarters

Posted on: September 16, 2013

MarketSphere plans move to Kansas

Posted on: July 23, 2013

eLuminate Health opens in Leawood

Posted on: February 5, 2013

Telamon to open facility in Kansas City

Posted on: January 31, 2013

GM invests $600 million in Fairfax plant

Posted on: January 28, 2013

Southwest Airlines is coming to Kansas

Posted on: January 13, 2012

Home Contact Us Sitemap Accessibility Copyright Notice Photo Credits Employment
Kansas Department of Commerce, 1000 S.W. Jackson St., Suite 100, Topeka, KS 66612-1354
(785) 296-3481      TTY - 711      Fax (785) 296-5055